Warren Gatland named his team for the 2019 Six Nations Rugby Tournament


By Gabriel Sultan Qureshi -:

The wait is over. Today the Welsh squad was named to play in the Six nations Rugby 2019 Tournament. Warren Gatland has named his last squad as head coach of Wales, picking a strong squad of 39. “I think we’ve got a great chance of winning the Six Nations if we win that opening game, which is going to be our toughest,” said Gatland Wales won their first six nation with Warren Gatland in charge in 2008 just 1 year after he became head coach.

He believes that he can repeat this accomplishment in his final year with the squad nicknamed the Dragons if they can win in Paris next month. Leigh Halfpenny and Ross Moriaty are both included in the squad. But Halfpenny hasn’t played since November 2018 with the Dragons due to concussion and Moriaty has been sidelined since the 15th of December 2018 due to a knock to the head. The absence of British and Irish Lion Taulupe Faletau with a broken arm is a significant blow ahead of the February 1st opener against France in Paris. Thomas young makes it into the 39 men squad having not played for the men in red since the summer of 2017. Jarrod Evans and Jonah Holmes have also been included after earning their new caps in the autumn international last year. Hallam Amos, Josh Navidi and Scott Williams are recalled after missing the autumn international due to injury.

Josh Turnball is also involved in the squad, he last played for Wales when he came off bench twice in Argentina in the summer but hasn’t started a Test for Wales since the tour of South Africa four and a half years ago. In all Gatland, who is set to hand over his job to Wayne Pivac after this year’s Rugby World Cup in Japan, has named a 39-men squad with Alun Wyn Jones his skipper, the only survivor of Gatlands first six nations in 2008.

The tournament’s opening game is on Friday 1st of February 2019 in Paris when France take on Wales.

Wales squad Forwards: Rob Evans (Scarlets), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Elliot Dee (Dragons), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Leon Brown (Dragons), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Cory Hill (Dragons), Alun Wyn Jones (captain, Ospreys) Ross Moriarty (Dragons), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons), Thomas Young (Wasps) Backs: Aled Davies (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Dan Biggar (Northampton), Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Patchell (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Scott Williams (Ospreys), Josh Adams (Worcester), Hallam Amos (Dragons), Steffan Evans (Scarlets), Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets),Jonah Holmes (Leicester) , George North (Ospreys,Liam Williams( Saracens).