England hope to capitalize on home advantage in EURO 2020


Three Lions will face tough group with likes of Scotland, Czech Republic, 2018 World Cup opponent Croatia.

England’s national football team will play against Croatia, Scotland and the Czech Republic in EURO 2020 Group D as they strive to capitalize on their home advantage with their fans in attendance.

London’s Wembley Stadium and Glasgow’s Hampden Park will host all Group D games as England will take on Croatia at Wembley in the opening match.

England, who never clinched the Euros and only reached the semifinals in 1968 and 1996, is seen as a favorite to win the Euro title, but the team will clash at home without some key players.

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy was not invited to join the squad and Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold has been ruled of the tournament due his injury.

The Three Lions had seven wins and one defeat, while they netted 37 games and conceded just six goals in Group A.

England will play all of the group games at the Wembley Stadium.


Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Manchester United),

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Reece James (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)


The 1996 and 2008 quarterfinalist, Croatia completed Group E with five wins, two draws and one defeat at top of the standings.

Ivan Rakitic and Mario Mandzukic will not fight for their team as they said goodbye to the national team, but Real Madrid star Luka Modric is widely regarded as the trump card.

The head coach, Zlatko Dalic led his team to advance to the 2018 FIFA World Cup final.


Goalkeepers: Dominik Livakovic (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Lovre Kalinic (HNK Hajduk Split), Simon Sluga (Luton Town)

Defenders: Borna Barisic (Rangers), Sime Vrsaljko (Atletico Madrid), Duje Caleta-Car (Olympique de Marseille), Dejan Lovren (Zenit St. Petersburg), Josip Juranovic (Legia Warszawa), Domagoj Vida (Besiktas), Josko Gvardiol (Leipzig), Domagoj Bradaric (Lille OSC), Mile Skoric (NK Osijek)

Midfielders: Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Mateo Kovacic (Chelsea), Marcelo Brozovic (Inter Milan), Milan Badelj (Genoa), Nikola Vlasic (CSKA Moscow), Mario Pasalic (Atalanta), Ivan Perisic (Inter Milan), Josip Brekalo (VfL Wolfsburg), Mislav Orsic (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Luka Ivanusec (GNK Dinamo Zagreb)

Forwards: Ante Rebic (AC Milan), Bruno Petkovic (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Ante Budimir (Osasuna), Andrej Kramaric (TSG Hoffenheim)


Scotland, under manager Steve Clarke, will take part in a European competition for the third time in their history.

At third place in Group I qualifiers, Scotland eliminated Israel and Serbia on penalties to qualify for the EURO 2020.

Aston Villa’s John McGinn is a key part of the team along with Queens Park Rangers’ Lyndon Dykes, producing seven goals each in the qualifying round.


Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian), David Marshall (Derby County), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Jack Hendry (Celtic), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), David Turnbull (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United)

Forwards: Che Adams (Southampton), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), James Forrest (Celtic), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic — won the title in 1976 as Czechoslovakia — moved to the EURO 2020 after completing Group A in the second spot with five wins and three defeats.

Jaroslav Silhavy’s side will be in the European Championships for the 10th time in their history.

West Ham United’s Tomas Soucek and Hertha Berlin’s Vladimir Darid stand out in the squad of the Czech team.


Goalkeepers: Tomas Vaclik (Sevilla), Jiri Pavlenka (Werder Bremen), Ales Mandous (SK Sigma Olomouc)

Defenders: Vladimir Coufal (West Ham United), Pavel Kaderabek (TSG Hoffenheim), Ondrej Celustka (Sparta Prague), Tomas Kalas (Bristol City), David Zima (Slavia Prague), Jan Boril (Slavia Prague), Ales Mateju (Brescia), Jakub Brabec (Viktoria Plzen)

Midfielders: Lukas Masopust (Slavia Prague), Vladimir Darida (Hertha Berlin), Tomas Soucek (West Ham), Antonin Barak (Hellas Verona), Alex Kral (Spartak Moscow), Tomas Holes (Slavia Praha), Petr Sevcik (Slavia Prague), Jakub Jankto (Sampdoria), Adam Hlozek (Sparta Prague), Jakub Pesek (FC Slovan Liberec)

Forwards: Patrik Schick (Bayer Leverkusen), Michael Krmencik (PAOK), Matej Vydra (Burnley), Tomas Pekhart (Legia Warszawa)


June 13 (GMT: 13.00): England vs. Croatia (Wembley Stadium – London)

June 14 (GMT: 13.00): Scotland vs. Czech Republic (Hampden Park – Glasgow)

June 18 (GMT: 16.00): Croatia vs. Czech Republic (Hampden Park )

June 18 (GMT: 19.00): England vs. Scotland (Wembley Stadium )

June 22 (GMT: 19.00): Czech Republic vs. England (Wembley Stadium )

June 22 (GMT: 19.00): Croatia vs. Scotland (Hampden Park)