Brandon Lewis MP appointed Conservative Party Chairman


(Press Release) : – The Prime Minister has today announced that Brandon Lewis, the Member of Parliament for Great Yarmouth, is the new Chairman of the Conservative Party.

The new Party Chairman will be joined by James Cleverly, the Member of Parliament for Braintree, as Deputy Chairman. Brandon has been an MP for 8 years. In that time he has served as Minister for Local Government, Minister of State for Housing and Planning, Minister of State for Policing and Fire Services, and Minister of State for Immigration.  Before that he was also a long-serving councillor and then Council Leader in Brentwood.

James Cleverly has been an MP since 2015. In that time has served as the PPS to the Minister of State for Immigration. This follows a period as the member of the London Assembly for Bexley and Bromley and then the Leader of the Conservatives in the London Assembly.  This followed a career in publishing and over 25 years in the Reserve Forces.

The new Party Chairman and Deputy Chairman will be joined by a team of Vice Chairmen:

Kemi Badenoch, MP for Saffron Walden (Vice Chairman, Candidates)

Ben Bradley, MP for Mansfield (Vice Chairman, Youth)

Maria Caulfield, MP for Lewes (Vice Chairman, Women)

Rehman Chishti, MP for Gillingham and Rainham (Vice Chairman, Communities)

Helen Grant, MP for Maidstone and The Weald (Vice Chairman, Communities)

Andrew Jones MP, for Harrogate and Knaresborough (Vice Chairman, Business Engagement)

Marcus Jones, MP for Nuneaton (Vice Chairman, Local Government)

James Morris, MP for Halesowen and Rowley Regis (Vice Chairman, Training and Development)

Chris Skidmore, MP for Kingswood (Vice Chairman, Policy)

The following Vice Chairmen will continue in their post:

David Brownlow (Vice Chairman, Campaigning)

Dominic Johnson (Vice Chairman, Finance)

Paul Scully, MP for Sutton and Cheam (Vice Chairman, London)

Alec Shelbrooke, MP for Elmet and Rothwell (Vice Chairman, International)

Commenting, Brandon Lewis MP said: “I am greatly honoured to have been appointed to Chairman of the Conservative Party by the Prime Minister.

“I look forward to working with our dedicated membership, volunteers across the country and the excellent team in CCHQ as we look ahead to elections this year and beyond.”